top of page
The Abolition Institute in Chicago.png

 Juneteenth and the Aichana Abeid Boilil Awards 

Every Juneteenth the Abolition Institute honors outstanding leaders in the fight against modern slavery with our Aichana Abeid Boilil Award – named after the first woman rescued from slavery by our partner organization SOS Esclaves. 
Previous winners have included:

  • Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky

  • Former Illinois Lieutenant Governor Sheila Simon

  • Illinois State Representative La Shawn Ford

  • Chicago Alderman Maria Hadden

  • Mauritanian human rights attorney Mohameden Elid

  • Mauritania’s first woman lawyer Fatimata M’Baye

  • Attorney Tom Campbell – author of “Fighting Slavery in Chicago”

  • Julia Harrington Reddy of Open Society Foundations

  • Anti-trafficking volunteer Majid Mustafa

  • Oak Park – River Forest High School Student Leader Carolyn Santos

  • Human Rights Leader Jerry Herman

  • Zakat Foundation Director Halil Demir

  • Forest Park Mayor Rory Hoskins

  • Black Remembrance Project and Founder LaCreshia Birts

  • Kofi Boateng of WGHC Radio

  • Sena Amenu of WGHC Radio

  • Global political strategist and human rights leader Antonio Sola

  • Filmmaker Michele Stephenson

bottom of page